How to Avoid “Starvation”…

… after getting your wisdom teeth pulled. As a mother, both during pregnancy and now nursing, food has become a huge part of my life… everything revolves around food. Lol. I am constantly hungry most days! So one of the things I was most dreading while waiting for my appointment to get my teeth out was being super hungry afterwards due to the mush diet. I planned out a bunch of food, and thought I had maybe planned too much, but no. It barely lasted me the 5-7 days I needed soft food.

I’ve promised a few people I’d write a post about what I ate, so here it goes.

 

Here’s what I started with in the freezer: Ice cream, mango sorbetto, fruit juice popsicles (which I didn’t eat but should’ve), and frozen fruit–mangos, peaches, pears and bananas. (the last 2 I froze myself)

img_0556

And in the fridge… I love pudding so I wanted to take full advantage, lol. Yogurt was also nice to have. The yogurt drink was a good idea, I wish I’d had a few.

img_0555

And my pantry items (Well some)… Blended soups are a GOOD IDEA. Get/make lots. (I had enough with these 2 but more might’ve been good. I added peanut butter or goat’s cheese for more protein.) You’ll want savory food and these are perfect. Mac and cheese was good toward the end. Applesauce is a nice easy soft food. I didn’t use the broth but you might.

img_0557

First thing I ate– Organic vanilla ice cream! I needed something cold, something soft, and something to make up for what I’d just been through. Ha.

img_0652-1

I did several smoothies… I tried some fun ones, which cheered me up. Peach green tea (http://reciperunner.com/peach-green-tea-smoothie/) and pear ginger (http://reciperunner.com/pear-ginger-smoothie/). I also had a chocolate peanut butter one.

I added chocolate bone broth protein powder to my pudding, along with some whipped cream. Yum.

img_0707

I discovered that avocado and goat’s cheese are quite a nice pairing! At least I thought so. And it made me feel like I was eating real food, which was a plus.

img_0694-1

Blended soup and mashed potatoes, yum.

img_0717-1

I found some decent jello (no artificial dyes and such)… I really enjoyed it, haha.

img_0720

Cottage cheese is another good option. I found when I was pregnant with Noah that honey and cinnamon is pretty tasty on it, if you like sweet with your cottage cheese.

img_0802

Starting to eat more normally… mac and cheese and blended soup with goat’s cheese.

img_0738

Sweet potatoes and grits. The grits are a little risky at first because of the small hard pieces (you don’t want anything going into your holes!), so I’d caution using that till at least a few days to a week out.) I also just ate a baked sweet potato on it’s own.

img_0872

Another transition food was scrambled eggs (no picture).

If I was going to do this soft diet again, I think I’d plan even more savory food. I was rather sugared out even with how carefully I’d planned. More soups, maybe refried beans, creamed spinach, stuff like that. Steamed, mashed veggies could also work. Protein is a big challenge, too, so keep that in mind. A protein powder you can add to stuff helps. Also a soft cheese helps, like the goat’s cheese I mentioned a few times. Or just melted cheese.

Hopefully that was helpful to some of you! 🙂 Also just be really careful to follow the after care instructions (no straws, rinsing the sockets with salt water after the first day, etc). I was, and I didn’t have any complications. Phew! It really wasn’t as awful as I’d imagined,  including the procedure (which I was awake for)… I had literally been dreading it for like 10 years. 😛 So glad it’s over though!!

Leave a Reply

